• Affiliates

    If you're gonna shop anyway, I'd really appreciate it if you'd click through my links to help support the growing needs of ballet slippers, art supplies, and soccer shorts. :)

  • Add to Technorati Favorites
  • Mom Blogs
  • Widget_logo
  • -------------------------------
  • You are visitor number

    • 152,526
  • free counters

Are You Hungry?

I saw this over at The Nut House and just had to grab it.

According to halfbakedbrownieguider, this is 100 “North American” foods. You bold what you’ve tried.

1. New York pizza

2. Hoppin‘ John

3. New Mexico green chile

4. Homemade buttermilk biscuits

5. Tasso

6. Whole Maine lobster (I refuse to eat anything with the eyes still in it)

7. Calabash-style shrimp and hushpuppies

8. Kansas City barbecue ribs

9. Hot glazed Krispy Kreme

10. San Diego fish tacos (does this even SOUND good to anyone??)

11. Cheese curds (ya. don’t want that spider to sit down beside me…)

12. Key lime pie

13. Philly cheese steak

14. Memphis pork barbecue sandwich

15. Lowcountry boil

16. Huckleberry pie

17. New England clam chowder (The only sea food I’ll eat)

18. Boiled peanuts

19. Buffalo (Bison) burger

20. Eggs Benedict

21. Pastrami on rye

22. Corned beef and cabbage

23. Pancakes with maple syrup (REAL maple syrup – Vermont style baby!)

24. Everything bagel with cream cheese and tomato

25. Thin Mints

26. Frito pie

27. Potato knish with mustard

28. Silver Queen corn on the cob

29. Soft pretzel from a street cart

30. Fresh-picked blueberries (I try one every year and am reminded why I don’t like them)

31. Sourwood honey

32. State fair funnel cake (Fried Bread Dough is better *grin*)

33. Chesapeake crab cakes

34. Candied yams

35. Oyster dressing

36. Snow cone or snowball

37. Wild Alaskan salmon

38. Sautéed more

39. Persimmon pudding

40. General Tso’s Chicken

41. Frozen custard

42. Italian sausage with peppers and onions on a hoagie bun

43. Chili dogs

44. Buffalo wings with blue cheese (If boneless counts…)

45. Spam musubi

46. Saltwater taffy

47. Fluffernutter sandwich on Wonder Bread

48. Black and white cookie

49. Frybread

50. BLT with thick-cut applewood bacon (better with “regular” bacon though)

51. Baked beans

52. Pumpkin pie

53. Collards with vinegar and Tabasco

54. Tex-Mex fajitas with skirt steak and sautéed peppers

55. Fried green tomatoes

56. Succotash (although, I didn’t know it was called that until I married Mike)

57. Shrimp and grits

58. Hot water cornbread

59. Barbecue chicken pizza with red onions

60. Chicken fried steak

61. Carnitas burrito

62. Apple butter

63. Geoduck

64. Soft-serve ice cream cone dipped in chocolate shell

65. Pecan pie

66. Catfish supper at a church or fire station

67. Oysters Rockefeller

68. Homemade cranberry sauce (blech)

69. Pimento cheese

70. MoonPie washed down with R.C. Cola

71. Pickled watermelon rind

72. Cracker Jacks at the ball game

73. Smithfield ham

74. Meatloaf and mashed potato blue plate special at diner

75. Chicken and waffles

76. Po’Boy with many napkins

77. Green bean casserole with French’s fried onions (Grandma’s ROCKED)

78. Stuffed sopaipillas

79. Turducken (This is Turkey stuffed with Duck stuffed with Chicken, right?)

80. Shad roe on toast

81. Sweet potato casserole with or without marshmallows

82. Cioppino

83. New York cheesecake

4. Pan-fried river trout

85. Jambalaya

86. North Carolina pig pickin

87. California rolls

88. Burgoo

89. Penuche fudge (used to make this at work)

90. Fried peanut butter and banana sandwich

91. Scrapple or livermush

92. Elk medallions in red wine reduction

93. Muscadine grapes

94. Cheeseburger at backyard barbecue (although, NON cheese is better)

95. Open-face turkey sandwich

96. Chicago deep dish pizza

97. Cobb salad

98. Peach pie a la mode

99. Macaroni and cheese

100. Root beer float (OMG, I must have one NOW)

TOTAL: 47. Which, much like Shirley, surprises me. I’m pretty picky, which is why anything having to do with seafood on this list is *not* bold – except the clam chowder, but I’m fairly certain that I like that for the potatoes. And there are some things on this list that I’ve TRIED, but I don’t eat on a regular basis. Some of these things I’ve never even heard of.

Your turn! How many of the top 100 have you tried?

And…if you weren’t hungry before…are you now? *grin*

4 Responses

  1. I’ve only had about 46 of the above dishes. But I really can’t say I have much of a desire to try most of the rest, maybe just a handful of them.

  2. Oh yay! I’m DEFINITELY doing this on my blog!

    And you are pretty picky! I feel like I need to make you a peach pie and get you some real chicken wings. And an everything bagel with cream cheese and tomatoes. And some eggs benedict. We can skip the shadroe, though. Ick 🙂

    And a fried PB and banana sandwich is awesome. Of course, this is coming from someone who owns an Elvis cookbook, so take that with a grain of salt 🙂

  3. I’ll have the fried catfish, collards w/ tobasco, and fried green tomatoes. Mmmmm…

  4. If you lived in the south – like i do now – you’d check quite a few more off your list – Moon pie w/ RC Cola, shrimp and grits, and many more. Quick count there were only about 15 I haven’t had on that list.

Leave a comment